International Composers Competition for Young Composers

Result of the 36th IRINO PRIZE for Chamber Music, 2015

Irino Prize Winners

Photo-Naoki-Sakata by Florent Caron-Darras のコピー 2
composer Sakata Naoki
(Japanese, 1981 b. in Kyoto, living in Paris)
title of work “Fossiles de Lumière” (fl, cl, sax, acc, hp, vn, vla, cello)
duration 13’00”
Rafael Nassif by B.Linke 2015 のコピー
composer Rafael Nassif (Brazilian, 1984b. in Juiz de Faro-Brazil, living in Austria) 
title of work “musica d’incanto” oboe and trio of very low instruments for apart: contrabassoon, contrabass and tuba)
duration 18’20”
 <Profile: Naoki Sakata>
Born in Kyoto in 1981, Sakata studied the composition with Naoyuki Terai at Aichi University of the arts from 2003 to 2007, and he received his bachelor’s degree at the top of the list. In 2007, he studied with Edith Lejet at the Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris where he obtained the diplôme superièur at the top of the list. From 2008, he entered the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris where he studied with Stefano Gervasoni and he also obtained his Master’s of Music degree in 2013. He participated “cursus I” in the Ircam 2014-2015.He participated in many masterclasses and workshop such as Royaumont composition session “voix nouvelles”, Académie Philippe Manoury and by divertimento ensemble.He presented his works in many festivals such as Takefu International Music Festival, Festival International Toulouse les Orgues, Festival OperaBarga, Saxopen in Strasbourg, Festival Musica in Strasbourg, Lima international Festival of Music and his music were performed by Ensembles such as Linea, 2e2m, Multilatérale, Divertimento Ensemble, Tokyo sinfonietta.<Profile: Rafael Nassif>
Nassif is a brazilian composer based in Europe, whose work concentrates on timbric and spatial aspects. He was initially a self-taught composer in Cataguases, where he grew up, and at the age of 15 gave a piano recital of his own compositions. In his teenage years he studied composition informally with Almeida Prado and Marlos Nobre. Later Nassif received his Bachelor’s degree in Composition at the Federal University of Minas Gerais (2003-7) , studied at the Federal University of Bahia on an exchange progrqm in 2006, and received his Master’s degree from the state University of Music and Performing Arts of stuttgart (2009-12, class of Caspar Johannes Walter; seminars on Sonology with Oliver Schneller and Marco Stroppa); at the same University he concluded in 2014 with honor the “Konzertexamen” in Composition, last musical degree in Germany. He also carried out studies in the Alexander Technique (and the musical phenomenon, etc.) with lIan Sebastian Grabe, a former pupil of Celibidache. Masterclasses at international festivals include among others Alvin Lucier, Christian Wolff, Kaija Saariajo, Beat Furrer, George Aperghis and Georg Friedrich Haas.

Nassif’s music has been played and recorded worldwide. He has also received various awards for his works, as well as commissions (among others from the Philharmonic Orchestra of Minas Gerais, CordaNova guitar quartet, ensemble cross. art, SWR-Vokalensemble). In Germany he received in 2013 the “Karl-Sczuka-Forderpreis” on the SWRDonaueschinger Musiktage; in 2014 a composer’s fellowship from the BW-Kunststiftung and from the Akademie der KOnste-Berlin. In March 2015 he received the Kulturpreis-Berlin (Music) in the Akademie der Künste (Berlin).

Nassif is active in the multiple capacities of composer, interpreter/performer (piano, ad-hoc) and curator/organizer of concerts. In partnership with several musicians, he has organized and participated in an extensive number of concerts in the cities where he has resided, such as the contemporary music series “eu gostaria de ouvir” (Belo Horizonte, 2008-12). His varied parallel interests (Experimental Art, Philosophy, Meditation, Pranayama and others) reverberate in his recent works.

-The result of the 36th IRINO PRIZE for Chamber Music, 2015-
We would like to inform you the result of the 36th Irino Prize ,2015.
The Selection Committee has been held on September 23rd, 2015 at the NPO JML Yoshiro Irino Music Institute Tokyo.Jury of this year:
Joji YUASA, Yori-Aki MATSUDAIRA, Satoshi TANAKA, Takayuki RAI,
Mari TAKANO (Chairman), Masahiro MIWA, Haruyuki SUZUKITotal of Entries: 84 compositions, 23 countries

Award: 200,000 Japanese yen (This will be shared between above two winners.)


Comments are closed.