International Composers Competition for Young Composers

Result of the 40th IRINO PRIZE for Chamber Music, 2019

Irino Prize Winners

Jesse Broekman
composer Jesse Broekman
(1985 born in Zaandam, The Netherlands)
title of work “Narrow numerous” for fl, cl, 2-vl, vla, vc, pf and perc.
duration 20’00”
composer Utku Asuroglu
(1986 born in Istanbul, Turkey) 
title of work “Und” for fl, cl, vl, vla, vc, pf and 2-perc. 
duration 17’00”
 [Profile of Jesse Broekman]
Between 2005 and 2013, he studied philosophy at the University of Amsterdam, composition & music technology at the Utrecht School of Arts with Barbara Woof and jomit Tamminga, and composition at the Musikhochschule Stuttgart with Marco Stroppa.   He worked with a.o. Ensemble Proton, Staatsorchester HumburgAsasello Stringquartet, Ensemble Nikel, Ensemble Oerknal, Erik Bosgraaf, Blindman Ensemble, the Insomnio Ensemble, Gamelan Ensemble Gending, Ensemble Garage, EMP NYC, Trio Onyx, Auditivvokal Dresden and the IEM in Graz.He received a commission for a new ensemble piece for the Talents Biennale Köln 2012 from the city of Cologne, and his works were performed at the Gaudeamus Muziekweek, Festival Wien Modern, Ton Bruynel Festival Utrecht, Festival Acht Bruecken and the international Ferienkurse für Neue Musik Darrnstadt.He has realized music theater, opera and dance pieces at the Staatsorper Hanmburg, Staatstheater Mainz and Staattheater Oldenburg.

[Profile of Utku Asuroglu]
Began his musical studies in the Mimar Sinan fine Arts University(MSFAU) State Conservatory and holds degrees from the Rotterdam Conservatory, Kunstuniversitat Graz( graduated highest distinction) and studied at the Hochschule für Musik Freiburg . His primary teachers include Clemens Gadenstatter, Gérard Pesson, and Fridrich Haas. He is studying with Brian Ferneyhough and Jonathan Berger as a doctoral student at Stanford University. His works have been performed by many organizations: Darmstȁdter Ferienkurse, Donaueschinger Musiktage Next Generation, Gaudeamus Muziekweek,Mnifeste IRCUM, ISCM World Music Days, International Tongyeong Music Festival, Essen European Capital Culture etc. He got many awards: Composition of Austrian Federal Ministry 2016, the Musikförerungspreis der Stadt Graz 2014, laureate of the International Gaudeamus Prize 2015, the Goethe Award 2016, the Goethe Institute’s 2016 Asian Showcase in South Korea

-The result of the 40th IRINO PRIZE for Chamber Music, 2019
We would like to inform you the result of the 40th Irino Prize ,2019.
The Selection Committee has been held on September 25th, 2019 at the NPO JML Yoshiro Irino Music Institute Tokyo.
Jury of this year: Yori-Aki MATSUDAIRA, Satoshi TANAKA, Takayuki RAI,
Mari TAKANO, Masahiro MIWA, Haruyuki SUZUKI(Chairperson), Rica Narimoto
Total of Entries: 35 compositions, 36 countries
Award: 200,000 Japanese yen (This will be shared between above two winners.)

Comments are closed.