International Composers Competition for Young Composers

International Composers Competition for young composers
(announced in September 2016)

The 40th International IRINO PRIZE

for Chamber Music, 2019

(with or without electro-acoustic component)


Composition should be scored for not more than eight players with or without electroacoustic (fixed media). Instrumental music with a live-computer component can also be submitted. Electroacoustic composition without an instrumental component cannot be submitted. Submission must be limited to one composition.


Any nationality. Composers must be less than 35 years old as of June 23, 2019. Composition has to be composed after January 1, 2017, and must not have received any prizes previously.

DURATION: less than 20 minutes

DEADLINE: June 23, 2019 (Postmarked)


AWARD: 200,000 Japanese Yen

Composer should submit the followings:
1)  Application form (download)
2)  Score (only score printed on paper – no electronic documents acceptable)
3)  Recording of performance (If available, Audio CD or CDROM in wave, aif or mp3 format)
4)  Program notes

All materials should be sent to the IRINO PRIZE FOUNDATION, Japan by post (email submission is not acceptable).  All scores and recordings will be kept in the archive of the JML.

JURY: Joji YUASA, Yori-Aki MATSUDAIRA, Satoshi TANAKA, Takayuki RAI, Mari TAKANO, Masahiro MIWA, Haruyuki SUZUKI, Rica NARIMOTO

CHAIRPERSON for 2019: Haruyuki SUZUKI

ANNOUNCEMENT: September, 2019

INFORMATION: To obtain the application form and additional information, contact:

THE IRINO PRIZE FOUNDATION  [Mrs. Reiko Takahashi IRINO, president]
c/o NPO JML Yoshiko Irino Music Institute
5-22-2 Matsubara, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo 156-0043, Japan.

Tel: +81-3-3323-0646   Fax: +81-3-3325-5468

The IRINO PRIZE was founded in 1980 in honor of the late Yoshiro Irino, one of the most respected Japanese composers of his generation. The prize is administrated by The Irino Prize Foundation which was established after his death, on June 23,1980, by Mrs. Reiko Takahashi IRINO with the collaboration of renowned composers Maki ISHII, Joji YUASA and Yori-Aki MATSUDAIRA. The IRINO PRIZE is awarded to young composers who explore new directions, and demonstrate innovative creativity. The IRINO prize category alternates yearly, and is given for orchestral works in even years, and chamber works in odd years.


Comments are closed.