International Composers Competition for Young Composers

Result of the 33rd IRINO PRIZE for chamber-ORCHESTRA, 2012

Irino Prize Winner
composer Nicolas Tzortzis
(Greek,living in Paris)
title of work “Voiceless, for 12 musicians”
duration 13min
Born in Athens, Greece in May 1978, Nicolas Tzortzis haseen living in Paris, France, since 2002.
He studied instrumental and electronic composition with Philippe Leroux at the CRD de Blanc Mesnil, musical
theatre composition with Georges Aperghis at the Hochschule der Kunste in Bern, Switzerland and Computer
Aided Composition at the University of Paris 8 under the direction of Horacio Vaggione and José Manuel
Lopez-Lopez. In 2009-2010 he attended the CURSUS 1 of composition and computer music at the IRCAM and
he has been selected to do the CURSUS 2 for the years 2010-2012,where he presented a large-scale work for
silent piano and live electronics.He iscurrently pursuing a PhD at the University of Montreal, under the
supervision of Philippe Lerouxand Denis Gougeon.He has taken part in master classes with Karlheinz
Stockhausen, Brian Ferneyhough, Beat Furrer and François
Paris, as well as computer music seminars at the IRCAM. In 2010, he was selected for the 6thNew Composers
Forum of the Ensemble Aleph.His music has been performed in France, Greece, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Italy,
Germany, Austria, Switzerland,
Great Britain, the Netherlands, the USA, Canada, Argentina, Peru, South Korea and Australia, and has been
selected and warded in competitions worldwide (USA, South Korea, Germany, France, Austr
ia, Greece, Italy, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Argentina).(from his Home page)
-The Result of the 33rd IRINO PRIZE FOR Chamber-ORCHESTRAL COMPOSITION, 2012-
We would like to inform you the result of the 33rd  Irino Prize ,2012.
The Selection Committee has been held on July 28, 2012 at the NPO JML Yoshiro Irino Music Institute Tokyo.

Jury of this year: Joji YUASA, Yori-Aki MATSUDAIRA, Satoshi TANAKA, Takayuki RAI (Chairperson) ,
Mari TAKANO,Masahiro MIWA
and Haruyuki SUZUKI

Guest jury: Cort Lippe (Winner of the 8th Irino Prize)

Special jury: Yasuaki ITAKURA (Music Director & Conductor of Tokyo Sinfonietta)

Total of Entries: 22 Compositions, 15Countries
(The instrumentation for Chamber-Orchestra is all fixed and very hard to submit.)

Award: Total 500,000 Japanese yen and an Certification

The first world performance by TOKYO SINFONIETTA subscription concert

THE IRINO PRIZE FOUNDATION [Mrs. Reiko Takahashi IRINO, president]
c/o NPO-JMLYoshiro Irino Music Institute Tokyo.
5-22-2 Matsubara, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo 156-0043, Japan.
Tel: +81-3-3323-0646 Fax: +81-3-3325-5468
e-mail :

Comments are closed.