International Composers Competition for Young Composers

International Composers Competition for young composers
(announced in December 2018)


The 41st International IRINO PRIZE

for Chamber-Orchestral Work, 2020

Composition should be scored for between 9 and 17 instruments, comprising at most 1 flute (piccolo, alto/bass-fl), 1 oboe (cor anglais), 1 clarinet (Eb/bass/contrabass- cl, bassett horn), 1 bassoon (contra-basson), 1 horn, 1 trumpet, 1  trombone, 1 tuba, 2 violins, 1 viola, 1 cello, 1 double bass, 1 saxophone (soprano/alto/tenor/baritone-sax.), 1 piano (celesta), 1 percussion (1 player) and 1 harp.

Any nationality. Composers must be less than 40 years old as of June 23, 2020.   The work can be either previously performed or not performed yet, but should not has received any prizes. Submission is limited to one composition per composer.

DURATION: less than 15 minutes

DEADLINE: June 23, 2020 (Postmarked)


AWARD: 300,000 Japanese Yen
Note: Only one work will be awarded as a result of the final judges’ decision.

Composer should submit the followings: 
1) Application form (download Application Form)
2) Score (on printed paper only – no electronic documents acceptable)
3) Explanation of the work (maximum 1 page, or copy of concert program)
4) Recording of work, if available (Audio CD, or CDROM in wave, aif, or mp3 format) 

All materials should be sent to the IRINO PRIZE FOUNDATION, Japan by post. (No email submission is acceptable)  All scores will be kept in the archive of the JML.

The winning composition will be performed by Tokyo Sinfonietta in its subscription concert series. The instrumental parts for this performance must be provided by the composer.

Joji YUASA (honorary), Yori-Aki MATSUDAIRA, Satoshi TANAKA, Takayuki RAI,  Mari TAKANO, Masahiro MIWA, Haruyuki SUZUKI, Rica NARIMOTO
GUEST JURY: Yasuaki ITAKURA (Conductor and Music Director of Tokyo Sinfonietta)
CHAIRPERSON for the 41st: Satoshi TANAKA

ANNOUNCEMENT: October, 2020

INFORMATION: To obtain the application form and additional information, contact:
THE IRINO PRIZE FOUNDATION [Mrs. Reiko Takahashi IRINO, president]
c/o NPO JML Yoshiro Irino Institute of Music
5-22-2 Matsubara, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo 156-0043, Japan
Tel: +81-3-3323-0646 Fax: +81-3-3325-5468
e-mail :

The IRINO PRIZE was founded in 1980 in honor of the late Yoshiro Irino, one of the most respected Japanese composers of his generation. The prize is administrated by The Irino Prize Foundation which was established after his death, on June 23,1980, by Mrs. Reiko Takahashi IRINO with the collaboration of renowned composers Maki ISHII, Joji YUASA and Yori-Aki MATSUDAIRA. The IRINO PRIZE is awarded to young composers who explore new directions, and demonstrate innovative creativity. The IRINO PRIZE consists of two categories; one for Chamber-Orchestral work held in even years and the other for Chamber Music held every year.


Comments are closed.